English

During the winter season we are open by appointment through Bjarne D. Nielsen: Phone: (+45) 57 64 33 85.

You are always welcome to contact us.

Tickets and exhibition

Ticket prices are reasonable at only 50 kr, which includes coffee and cake, but during the winter season, where opening hours are by appointment only, a guide is required to open and close the museum. This means an addi-tional fee of 250 kr. In order to assure a satisfactory tour, one guide can show no more than 8 guest around at one time due to restricted space. We hope that you can gather a group and have a great experience in Ringsted.  This year’s themes are the famous Danish Radio PIRACY-station MERCUR: 1958 to 1962, and 100 products  from the Company Arena: 1928 to 1978.

Welcome to Ringsted!

The Chronicle project:
The DR Museum has donated several models in the Royal Establishment Model exhibition as a sign of their appreciation for our participation in the TV series The Chronicle, where we delivered 600 units to the Bella Company. The association spent 6,000 hours over the course of five years on this project.

Our background

Denmark is a unique country in relation to electronics, radio & TV. Danish researchers were behind  inventions such as;
  •     Observing/describing positions of “The STAR’s” by Tycho Brahe
    • The calculation of the speed of radio waves by Ole Roemer
    • The demonstration of electromagnetism by Hans Christian Oersted
    • The world’s first dry cell battery by Wilhelm Hellesen
    • Magnetic storage/recording by Valdemar Poulsen
    • The world’s first powerful speaker Magnavox by Peter L. Jensen
    • Stereo recording after MS system by Holger Lauridsen (DR)
    • The world’s first stereo pick-up by Erik Rørbæk Madsen (B & O)
 We are a small country, but it is our DUTY and our RESPONSIBILITY, to cherish and to share the knowledge of these Danish inventions.
 
In 1962, Ringsted was given the responsibility of creating a trade school for radio mechanics. The school was established in April of 1963 and we have now been educators for the radio industry for more than 50 years.
Ringsted Tekniske Skole hired Niels M. Holm in 1963 and Bjarne D. Nielsen in 1966. They soon agreed to gather devices for a collection of equipment related to the radio industry, which has now become one of the largest in the country.
Apprentices and masters alike participated with great enthusiasm. In 1970 the school was made responsible for the training of radio dealers from the entire country. The school, which today is called the ZBC, is still home to the education of both engineers and sales people
.
In addition to approximately 5,000 devices, RFR has thousands of components, charts, books and magazines.
In 1963 when Ringsted Teknisk Skole began teaching radio mechanics, the Danish radio and TV factories and their subcontractors employed about 40,000 people. Denmark was self-sufficient when it came to radio & TV.
Ringsted Municipality donated the Saint Hans Chapel from 1901 to the Radio Museum. Estim. value: 1.5 milion kr.
Private foundations and companies have donated 500,000 kr. Radiohistorisk Forening Ringsted and their friend-ship association have donated 500,000 kr. In addition to this 50 RFR & FRIENDS members have worked on the restoration for 5,000 hours, corresponding to an amount of an additional 500,000 kr. The total amount of 1.5 million kr. corresponds closely to the amount contributed by Ringsted Municipality.

The result of this UNIQUE collaboration worth 3 Million kr. is:
Ringsted Radio Museum

Activities

Radio Historical Society Ringsted conducts a series of events every year with help of our friendship association.
 Mondays: Meetings in RADIOHUSET  from 7 pm to approximately 10:30 PM.
The set activities are: Sorting of incoming cases, appliance repairs in the workshop, recordings in the AV Center and member meetings in  a good atmosphere.
The newsletter RADIOTEN is sent out monthly  via e-mail
Here we inform regularly about the organization’s work and events.
A new theme oriented exhibition is staged every year at the museum.
In late April: Inauguration of the Museum’s new exhibition.
There will be 4-6 lectures on selected Mondays, every year.
Visit/summer tour will be organized in the beginning of June.
There will be a flea market on the last Sunday in August.
A common Christmas party for RFR and the friendship association on the last Friday in November.